Keeping chic & fantastique pre & post

In a moment of weakness I could easily eat a small jar of Nutella spoonfuls at a time. It’s witnessed by Mr ChicFantastique on many occasions.

Often short of breath, but keeping as active as possible, I got away with not putting on too much weight during my pregnancy. It was all baby.

Always one to keep on top of my style – good nails, hands, hair and skin – always mixing a piece of designer with high street, pregnancy for anyone is a challenging time. With a changing body shape, hormones and eating habits it’s easy to see why sometimes sitting on the couch in my pj’s for nine months could be an easy option.

But this just isn’t me, and with several party and press invites coming my way right up until the day before I was due to give birth, my biggest challenge was to look as good as possible and just fit in to every social occasion. If you are reading this, and this is you, then here are a few of my select investment pieces which kept me chic and fantastique both pre and post pregnancy.

Fortnightly osteopathy – lower back and buttocks. If you haven’t ever had your bottom massaged you won’t realise how much this hurts – but feels amazing.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Oil – not a stretch mark in sight – seriously!

Dr Sebagh’s intense eye cream. Glides on and you need a drop.

Give into colour with bronzer on cheeks, and a creamy lipstick (always keep lipstick in your bag because it’s a great pick-me-up). I like No. 7 for these make up staples.

Yoga and Pilates – stretch, stretch, stretch. Invest in a course and you’ll feel the benefits right up until birth and during recovery. Creates a good strong body and mind. You can do anything.

Skinny mummy jeans designed by Emily Evans of 9 London – pre and post lifesaver. I wore these most days, and dressed them with a glitzy top for a hen do party.

Black extra low V-neck tank from Isabella Oliver – fantastic tummy control and soft on the breasts. I wear mine to bed just to keep everything together.

Vanessa Knox investment pieces that can be worn day or evening – black maxi skirt is a lifesaver for Summer and Winter.

Good, strong hair ties – hair off face keeps me sane.

Storksak mummy bag, that doesn’t look like a mummy bag. Essential Mini M bits and pieces and holds my essential Notebook.

Ditched the heavy laptop for a compact Notebook. Saving money on the osteopathy by carrying something much lighter.

Leave a Reply

