Woman of the moment – Fashion Designer, Vanessa Knox

Designer Vanessa Knox is becoming one of the hottest imports that the UK fashion industry has seen. Being pregnant has never been so chic and sexy when you are wearing one of Vanessa’s maternity designs. Now based in London the former Victoria’s Secret designer and Co-Founder of Isabella Oliver now heads her own label Vanessa Knox.

While in the depths of preparation for her latest fashion shoot for her Maternity and ready-to-wear collection, Vanessa took the time out to talk to ChicFantastique about what inspires and drives the woman behind the VK brand.

What is the highlight of 2011 for you?

Highlight of 2011 would have to be setting up on my own, launching VK and starting a whole new career and life chapter.

What is your career highlight?

My favourite career moments and highlights would be whenever I see someone wearing something I have designed or when I hear how much they love wearing it. It makes me realise how much I love what I do. It is especially exciting when a celebrity is papped wearing one of my pieces.

What makes you feel you can rule the world?

SLEEP!
I find that it is amazing what a little bit of sleep can do. I am on fire if I can just manage to get more than my usual 4 hours a night. It is an ongoing goal of mine to get to bed earlier but it just doesn’t happen frequently enough. But when it does, watch out! If someone could just bottle it, the world would be in trouble.

Most valuable advice you have ever been given?

Follow your gut instinct. It is usually right. Easier said than done.

What would you tell your 16 year old self?

So many things but the main one would be to have more fun and get into trouble a little bit once in awhile. I was a very serious and focused kid and maybe grew up too fast. Oh, and use sunscreen!

Number one style tip for the party season.

Whatever you wear make it something you feel fabulous in. You never look good in something you are self-conscious in or that isn’t you, even if it is the latest and hottest fashion trend. There is nothing more attractive and sexy than a confident woman. That always shines through.

Your biggest influence?

There are so many. The biggest ones would be the old, yet revolutionary couture houses like Lanvin and Vionette, and especially CoCo Chanel. What a visionary CoCo was. She changed the way women would dress forever by introducing jersey sportswear and custom jewellery into the world of high fashion and created a whole new way of dressing around her busy and active lifestyle. Incredibly brave and visionary when you imagine the women of the time trussed up and corseted and covered in frills. Where would we be without her?!

Your best party moment?

…Is always when the evening takes an unexpected turn. The most recent was our recent Thanksgiving dinner at home with family. It started out as a lovely sit down turkey dinner with everyone looking very glam and festive and it ended up with everyone dancing until the wee hours of the morning – did not see that coming. Not like the Thanksgivings of my childhood but certainly more fun!

Favourite make up tip?

Before going out, if time allows, I like to put on an Eve Lom Recovery Mask for 20 minutes before putting on my makeup. It always helps give my skin a lift and a glow after a long day. I also adore Shu Uemura soft cross accent false eye lashes. I put them at the ends to give the eyes that little touch of drama, add Chanel red lipstick and I’m ready to go.

What is always in your handbag?

What isn’t in my handbag?! Firstly, a sketchbook, markers my makeup bag, of course, a bottle Chanel No. 5, newspapers and magazines I need to read, I found some horse treats from the stable and kids’ toys and snacks. It’s a very big and heavy bag!

(Vanessa, No. 5 is always in our handbag too, and on our Christmas wish list.)

What’s next for VK?

We have a lot planned but we are taking things a day at a time and listening to our customers so that we can continue to improve as we grow, so watch this space!

A note from ChicFantastique…

It’s Christmas party season, and if you are pregnant, don’t hide away or avoid partying with your office colleagues or friends. Even in the most difficult months of pregnancy, glam up and look chic with the right style and colour that suits you. Don’t be scared to show off some shoulder and neckline. Pregnancy should bring you fantastique glowing skin and thick glossy locks so show these off along with your new curves and bump. The smokey eyes are the hot party makeup look this season – add some false lashes that look gorgeous in photos – you just never know where the camera is pointing.

4 thoughts on “Woman of the moment – Fashion Designer, Vanessa Knox

  1. After looking over a handful of the blog posts on your
    web site, I really like your way of writing a blog.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark site list and
    will be checking back soon. Take a look at my web site too and tell
    me what you think.

Leave a Reply

