Fashion & Tech Talk with Vanessa Adeeko

Obsession and passion for tech and fashion is growing among our new generation designers. Entering the world of fashion has never become more exciting as digital media presents us with a myriad of ways in which to communicate, experiment with design and materials and create.

Tech and fashion – my ultimate dream situation. When a new designer comes my way and I get excited, there are goose pimples, completely transfixed by clever use of art mediums including the much-talked about 3D printing techniques. Perfect lines of smart tailoring, fused with a technical edge – this is Vanessa Adeeko.

Her collection focuses on ‘blurring the lines’ of masculine and feminine wear. The debut collection titled ‘Aegle’ has been well received and according to Idol Magazine, ‘there is certainly more to come with Adeeko’s clear design philosophy and vision.’

Of course I have an eye for spotting great talent – and Vanessa Adeeko is definitely one to watch with her debut collection and amazing shoes that she has designed alongside this wonderful, inspiring collection.

vanessa adeeko

Tell us a little bit more about YOU…
I was born in London. I attended a girls boarding school The Royal Masonic then later went to the London college of fashion to complete my degree in Womenswear. Fashion has been my calling from childhood.

What excites you about fashion today?

The digital age has merged itself with fashion design. New techniques have been introduced such as 3D printing. This was used on some of the pieces in my Spring Summer Aegle collection. It enables designers to  create beautiful results such as producing good fabric-like materials, using interlocking structures to create new weaves and stitches. I was able to create 3D optical seams from my own materials and patterns from one machine.

Vanessa adeeko shoe

 

”Water Naides sandal” Inspired by water and light. The Water Naides sandal is Vanessa Adeeko’s vision of what a woman’s foot should look like. Each shoe is made entirely by hand in London. The 3D materials used and the complex processes necessary at each stage of transformation, naturally limits the quantities available and ensures uniqueness.

Do you have a muse? What inspires you?
Aegle is my muse. She has alluring beauty and she embodies both genders. She is from the water naides.

What is the point you are trying to make now with the new collection? 
I am trying to blur the lines between the opposite sexes.

In 5 years time, where do you hope to see the brand?
I would like to have my own flagship store and I would like to see my brand everywhere.

For any aspiring fashion designers, what advice would you give them?
Follow your dreams , believe in oneself and work hard . Take your time in finding your own unique aesthetic and stick to it.

Tell us something people don’t already know about you?
I worked for Julian MacDonald and designed dresses for famous singers.

If you were to travel to any part of the world, where would it be?
I would travel to the Himalayas to go climbing.

Explore more at www.vanessaadeeko.com and @VanessaAdeeko

 

Leave a Reply

